Axel Zwingenberger

Drucken / Print

The Boogie Woogie Album


Axel Zwingenberger with Lionel Hampton and his Orchestra


After the great bandleader Lionel Hampton had hired Axel Zwingenberger for an all European tour, they agreed upon recording a joint album. »The Boogie Woogie Album« combines swinging Big Band tunes with recordings of smaller settings.

Personnel: Lionel Hampton (vibes, p, voc), Axel Zwingenberger (p), Arvell Shaw (b), Panama Francis (dr), Irvin Stokes (tp), Illinois Jacquet (ts), George Kelly (ts), Sam Hurt (tb); The Lionel Hampton Big Band: John Marshal (tp), Barry Reis (tp), John Walker (tp), Vince Cutro (tp), Arnett Cobb (ts), Ricky Ford (ts), Yoshi Malta (as), Tom Chapin (as), Glenn Wilson (bs), John Gordon (tb), Charles Stephens (tb), Chris Gulhaghuen (basstb), Ralph Hamperian (b), Duffy Jackson (dr), Sam Turner (perc);

Recorded in New York City, January 1982 and in Doorwerth/NL, May 1982.


1. Graffiti Express

2. Rolling Slow

3. Central Avenue Breakdown

4. Whisky Blues

5. Mr. Freddie Blues

6. The Sheik Of Araby Boogie

7. New York Shuffle

8. Central Avenue Breakdown (2nd Version)

9. Jivin' In Jazzland

10. Hamp's Boogie Woogie

VRCD 8.88008